Pasta Month Feature – Shrimp Piccante Spaghettini

Bravo_133

It’s Pasta Month and we’re celebrating it with our ‘Share Our Love of Pasta” Prix Fixe menu. To determine the 3 dishes that were featured in the Prix Fixe, we held a special chef contest! All of our BRAVO! Executive Chefs were asked to submit a recipe that they created using Barilla Pasta, and the top 3 dishes were voted on by a tasting committee. Not only are the top 3 featured in our restaurants during Pasta Month, but the chef that sells the most dishes during this month will receive a trip to Italy, sponsored by Barilla and Porta Palo wines!

One of the talented chefs selected for this honor was Chef Maynor Hernandez from BRAVO! Rookwood in Cincinnati, Ohio. His Pasta Month creation is Shrimp Piccante Spaghettini. We would like to introduce you to Chef Maynor (and he’s quite funny), so we asked him a few questions about his background and his inspiration for creating this amazing dish:

CHEF MAYNOR HERNANDEZ, Executive Chef BRAVO! Rookwood image1

lives in Mason, Ohio

Q: What is you first memory of cooking?

A: “My first memory of cooking? Being next to my mom in the kitchen and my Grandma yelling at me and telling me that the kitchen was not a place for me to be! Look at me now, Grandma, wherever you are!”

Q: What inspired you to get in the culinary field?

A: “Since I was younger, I always liked to play and experiment with food and flavors. I loved to see people enjoy my creations and make them happy with them.”

Q: What is your favorite dish to make?

A: “At BRAVO!, I love to make this new awesome dish, I think it’s called Shrimp Piccante Spaghettini. 🙂 But seriously, my favorite dish to make is the one that makes my guests smile and want to come back for more!”

Q: What’s your favorite part of working at BRAVO!?

A: “It is all about to each guest, at each meal, each and every day.”

Q: Besides the opportunity to win a trip to Italy, what inspired you to create this dish?

A: “This is my way to show my thanks to BRAVO! for the many opportunities that I have been given. And because I was really hungry the day that I came up with it and wanted something different.”

Q: Can you describe your entry dish?

A: “Lightly blackened shrimp and roasted broccoli, infused with perfectly pan roasted garlic, tossed in al dente Barilla Spaghettini and a lobster tomato compote with fresh herbs. Topped with a garlic and herb Boursin cheese.”

Q: Is there anything else you’d like to share about yourself?

A: “What should everyone know about me? I’m obviously a very serious person, wink, wink!”

Special thanks to Chef Maynor for creating this amazing dish and don’t miss out on trying it this month ONLY at your local BRAVO!

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Pasta Month Feature – Shrimp Piccante Spaghettini

Leave a Reply

