Pasta Month Feature – Sausage & Peppers Spaghettini

Bravo_128

It’s Pasta Month and we’re celebrating it with our ‘Share Our Love of Pasta” Prix Fixe menu. To determine the 3 dishes that were featured in the Prix Fixe, we held a special chef contest! All of our BRAVO! Executive Chefs were asked to submit a recipe that they created using Barilla Pasta, and the top 3 dishes were voted on by a tasting committee. Not only are the top 3 featured in our restaurants during Pasta Month, but the chef that sells the most dishes during this month will receive a trip to Italy, sponsored by Barilla and Porta Palo wines!

One of the talented chefs selected for this honor was Chef Tommy Vobornik from BRAVO! Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska. His Pasta Month creation is Sausage & Peppers Spaghettini. We would like to introduce you to Chef Tommy, so we asked him a few questions about his background and his inspiration for creating this amazing dish:

CHEF TOMMY VOBORNIK, Executive Chef BRAVO! Omaha

expo-chef

from Layton, Utah

Q: What is you first memory of cooking?

A: “I was 8 years old in Elmwood Park, NJ at my first job where I learned how to cook. It was a small deli job where I made $5 a week to serve coffee and tea to the old men in the deli. It was here in this deli where I learned how much I enjoy making others happy.”

Q: What inspired you to get in the culinary field?

A: “Besides the fact that I am a fat kid and I like food, I have always had a passion to cook and try new things. It’s the many cultures and styles of cooking that have intrigued me and have shaped me into the chef I am today.”

Q: What is your favorite dish to make?

A: “My favorite Bravo dish to make is absolutely by far, the pork chops. It is unlike anything else on the menu. Now, at home, the favorite dish is a ‘Smores Stuffed French Toast. But my favorite thing to do is to try new ingredients and techniques. There is always something new to do, to try.”

Q: What’s your favorite part of working at BRAVO!?

A: “The people I work with have truly inspired me to become a better leader and chef for them and the restaurant in work in. They have become like a second family to me.”

Q: Besides the opportunity to win a trip to Italy, what inspired you to create this dish?

A: “This dish was actually inspired by a craving that I had for a sausage and pepper sandwich.”

Q: Can you describe your entry dish?

A: “It consists of sweet Peppadew peppers, roasted and pan seared sausage, garlic, oregano, caramelized onions, chicken stock, tomato compote, crushed red pepper, with ricotta cheese gently tossed with the Spaghettini.”

Q: Is there anything else you’d like to share about yourself?

A: “I have been with BBRG for 11.5 years now. I started out as a grill cook at Zona Rosa and then from there was promoted to Sous Chef and went to Arlington, Texas for 2 years. I then made a return to Kansas City and helped out both Zona Rosa and Leawood. In 2014, I promoted to Executive Chef at Omaha, NE which is where I reside now. It has been a great honor to be a part of the BBRG family for almost 12 years. I have enjoyed working with so many talented people and I look forward to continuing this journey. The best advice I have been given was from another chef who told me, “Be the inspiration you want to see in others.” There is no better example, than the example of yourself to others.”

Special thanks to Chef Tommy for creating this amazing dish and don’t miss out on trying it this month ONLY at your local BRAVO!

Leave a Reply

